Temporality in educational action

XXth AIEJI Congress · From 06 to 09 September 2022 · Lausanne · Switzerland
About us

About us

The XXth AIEJI congress is organised by ACAL, an association bringing together various Foundations and structures active in educational action in the canton of Vaud. This association was created with the aim of organising the XXth AIEJI Congress in 2022. More information about ACAL here: https://acal2021.ch

AIEJI is the International Association of Social Educators. Founded in the aftermath of World War II, it has since developed into an international organisation with members from all over the world working with socially exposed children and young people, people with developmental disabilities and excluded and marginalised adults such as the mentally ill, the homeless and drug addicts.

Every 4 years, AIEJI organizes an international congress for all its members and affiliated professionals, academics, practitioners and others. It is an opportunity to produce, gather and exchange knowledge. More information here: http://aieji.net

 

Call for action

Contribution

Temporality in educational action

Temporality is a plurivocal notion that is both abstract and concrete. Linked to Heidegger’s Dasein (1986), it refers to the existence and meaning of being in the world. The Da-sein, literally “being there”, designates this particular and paradoxical individual, carrying the concern of his or her “being” and the meaning of existence in the consciousness that he or she has of his or her finitude. In other words, temporality in Heidegger’s work refers to the way in which “the human being is temporal”. It is not limited to a submission to time, but is part of a project. The latter takes meaning from lived experience – the past – and the opening towards other possibilities – the future. To become a subject, to be oneself, then suggests being projected towards a future, a possible one. Doesn’t this posture commit us to having to choose and to answer for our choices in the present by anchoring ourselves in our past experiences?

The Dasein, however, is not purely individual; it is intimately articulated to the fact of being in the world and to intersubjectivity. In this sense, the subject’s future also depends on social and public conceptions of time. Indeed, cultural definitions of time structure social life inside and outside institutions, although its perception is subjective and dependent on lived experience. Thus, far from being merely a constraint imposed from outside, temporality in education refers to a plurality of conceptions and representations of time. Although educational action, because it aims at change, development, social integration and subject autonomy, de facto includes a temporal dimension, the issues linked to this plurality of “educational temporalities” (Alhadeff-Jones, 2018) remain little explored.

Following the example of emergencies involving prompt and punctual intervention, the concordance, congruence and compatibility of social, institutional and individual times (Bouquet & Riffault, 2013) are constantly being questioned. This highlights the temporal challenges of educational accompaniment.

Temporality, whether social or educational, will therefore be at the heart of the AIEJI 2022 congress as an object of reflection. To deal with temporality, the relations between the three main actors of socio-educational action will be questioned: the beneficiaries or users of social benefits, the social workers, the institutions to which the social workers are attached. This emphasis on the relations and interactions between these three actors will nevertheless take into account the social and cultural context and, in particular, social policies, the organisation of social benefits and their financing, and training logics.

The question that will be the main theme of this congress will be the following:

Around which issues is the temporality of the meeting between these three actors articulated?

Bibliographical references cited

Alhadeff-Jones, M. (2018). Conceiving temporal complexity in education from a critical perspective. Revue suisse des sciences de l’éducation, 40(3), 587-602.

Bouquet, B. & Riffault, J. (2013). Questions sur le temps et l’action sociale. Vie sociale, 2, 107-110.

Heidegger, M. (1986). Etre et temps. Paris: Gallimard.

 

Program

From 06 to 09 September 2022
Registration
Schedules ProgramLocation
8h-9h Welcome
9h-10h30 Ceremony OpeningGrand-Vennes
10h30-11h Break
11h-12h30 Conference plenery
Social work and its temporalities:
Critical, emancipation and transformation issues
Michel Alhadeff-Jones
Grand-Vennes
12h30-14h Meal
14h-15h30 Two Conferences at choice
Reconnecting to others and to oneself through digital technology?
Marc Atallah
ou
Philosophy and temporality
Julien Pieron
Auditoire HETSL
16h-17h WorkshopB332
Schedules ProgramLocation
8h-9h Welcoming participants
9h-10h30 Conference plenary
Attachments, autonomy and circumstances:
The paradoxical work of educational time
Bertrand Ravon
Grand-Vennes
11-12h30 Two Conferences at choice

The role of the State in educational action
Manon Schick

Is time still valuable ?
Magali Dubosson
Grand-Vennes
12h30-14h Meal
14h-15h30 Film: Temporality and MigrationAuditorium HETSL
16h-17h WorkshopA332
17h-18h AIEJI General Assembly For AIEJI members only
Schedules Program
8h30 Meeting point at
the Grand-Venne car park
9h-17h Discovery of institutions
18h Congress evening Lausanne 2022
Schedules ProgramLocation
8h-9h Welcoming participants
9h-10h30 Conference plenary

The traps of time
Guillaume Delannoy
Grand-Vennes
11h-12h WorkshopA332
12h-14h Closing dinner of the Comgress

Our region

French-speaking Switzerland

Situated in the heart of the Lake Geneva region our majestic canton of Vaud stretches from the gentle hills of the Jura to the fascinating Vaud Alps bordering enchanting lakes set in the landscape of authentic charm.

Enjoy descending from the peaks of the Glacier 3000 to the gentle slopes of the Vaud Alps, travelling the heights of the beautiful Jura on skis or snowshoes as well as combining cultural life and gastronomic discoveries.  In the Lake Geneva Region four worlds come together.

The Vallée de Joux and its surroundings seduce with their wild nature and the generosity of their landscapes.  A very rich cultural programme and shopping opportunities worthy of the world’s largest metropolises characterise the towns of Lausanne, Vevey, Montreux, Nyon Rolle, Morges and Yverdon-les-Bains.  The welcoming mountain villages are doing their utmost to make even more enjoyable the many winter sports with 500 km of slopes and more than 200 ski lifts, not to mention adventures in a tepee or breathtaking hot-air balloon flights.  The beautiful countryside will offer you all its culture and authenticity through its many picturesque villages.  Few other regions have such a variety of holiday resorts as those of the Lake Geneva region.

Our capital Lausanne boasts magnificent views of the Alps and the lively towns and wine growing villages bordering the sparkling lake are there to enjoy. Castles, picturesque villages, fortified hamlets contrast with the wheat fields and farming villages on the high plateaus. To the north is the Jura and the Vallée de Joux where nature has retained all its glory. To the east are the Vaud Alps with their peaks and glacier, mountain pastures, chalets, herds of cattle and sunny balconies to rest and enjoy the great outdoors.

Temporalité dans l’action éducative

XXe Congrès AIEJI · 06-09.09.2022 · Lausanne · Suisse
À proposInscription

À PROPOS

Le XXe congrès de l’AIEJI est organisé par l’ACAL, association regroupant diverses Fondations et structures actifs dans l’action éducative dans le canton de Vaud. Cette association a été créée dans le but d’organiser en 2022 le XXe congrès de l’AIEJI. Plus d’information sur l’ACAL ici : https://acal2022.ch/

L’AIEJI est l’Association Internationale des Educateurs sociaux. Fondée au lendemain de la deuxième guerre mondiale, elle s’est depuis développée pour devenir une organisation internationale dont les membres viennent du monde entier et travaillent avec des enfants et des jeunes socialement exposés, des personnes souffrant de troubles du développement et des adultes exclus et marginalisés tels que les personnes souffrant de troubles mentaux, les sans-abri et les toxicomanes.

Tous les 4 ans, l’AIEJI organise un congrès international pour tous ses membres et les professionnels affiliés, les universitaires, les praticiens et autres. C’est l’occasion de produire, rassembler et échanger des connaissances. Plus d’information ici : http://aieji.net/

 

La temporalité dans l’action éducative

La temporalité est une notion plurivoque tout à la fois abstraite et concrète. Reliée au Dasein de Heidegger (1986) , elle renvoie à l’existence et au sens de l’être au monde. Le Da-sein, littéralement l’être-là, désigne cet individu particulier et paradoxal, portant le souci de son « être » et du sens de l’existence dans la conscience qu’il ou elle a de sa finitude. En d’autres termes, la temporalité renvoie chez Heidegger à la manière qu’a « l’être humain d’être temporel ». Elle ne se limite pas à une soumission au temps mais s’inscrit dans un projet. Ce dernier prend sens dans les expériences vécues – passé – et l’ouverture vers d’autres possibles – le futur. Advenir comme sujet, être soi, suggère alors d’être projeté vers un avenir, un possible. Cette posture n’engage-t-elle pas à devoir choisir et répondre de ses choix au présent en s’ancrant dans ses expériences passées ?

Le Dasein, n’est cependant pas purement individuel ; il est intimement articulé au fait d’être au monde et à l’intersubjectivité. En ce sens, l’advenir du sujet est aussi tributaire des conceptions sociales et publiques du temps. En effet, les définitions culturelles du temps structurent la vie sociale à l’intérieur comme à l’extérieur des institutions bien que sa perception soit subjective et dépendante des expériences vécues. Ainsi, loin de n’être qu’une contrainte imposée de l’extérieur, la temporalité en éducation renvoie à une pluralité de conceptions et de représentations du temps. Si l’action éducative, parce qu’elle vise le changement, le développement, l’insertion sociale et l’autonomie des sujets, comprend de facto une dimension temporelle, les enjeux liés à cette pluralité des « temporalités éducationnelles » (Alhadeff-Jones, 2018) restent peu explorés.

A l’exemple de l’urgence impliquant une intervention prompte et ponctuelle, la concordance, la congruence et la compatibilité des temps sociaux, institutionnels et individuels (Bouquet & Riffault, 2013) sont constamment questionnés. Cela met en exergue les défis temporels de l’accompagnement éducatif.

La temporalité, qu’elle soit sociale ou éducationnelle, sera donc au cœur du congrès AIEJI 2022 en tant qu’objet de réflexion. Pour traiter de la temporalité, les relations entre les trois principaux acteurs de l’action socio-éducative seront questionnées : les bénéficiaires ou usagers des prestations sociales, les travailleurs sociaux, les institutions auxquelles les travailleurs sociaux sont rattachés. Cet accent mis sur les relations et les interactions entre ces trois acteurs tiendra néanmoins compte du contexte social et culturel et, en particulier, des politiques sociales, de l’organisation des prestations sociales et de leur financement, des logiques de formation.

La question qui sera en filigrane de ce congrès sera la suivante :

Autour de quels enjeux s’articule la temporalité dans la rencontre entre ces trois acteurs ?

Références bibliographiques citées

Alhadeff-Jones, M. (2018). Concevoir la complexité temporelle en éducation dans une perspective critique. Revue suisse des sciences de l’éducation, 40(3), 587-602.

Bouquet, B. & Riffault, J. (2013). Questions sur le temps et l’action sociale. Vie sociale, 2, 107-110.

Heidegger, M. (1986). Etre et temps. Paris : Gallimard.

Programme

Du 06 au 09 septembre 2022
Inscription
Horaires Programme Traduction
8h-9h Accueil participants
9h-9h30 Cérémonie d’ouvertureEN · ES
9h30-12h30 Conférence plénière
Le travail social et ses temporalités :
Enjeux critiques, d’émancipation et de transformation
Michel Alhadeff-Jones
12h30-14h Repas
14h-15h30 Deux conférences à choix
Se reconnecter aux autres et à soi grâce au numérique ?
Marc Atallah
ou
Philosophie et temporalité
Intervant.e à venir
EN
16h-17h Workshop
Horaires Programme Traduction
8h-9h Accueil participants
9h-10h30 Conférence plénière

Attachements, autonomie et circonstances :
Le travail paradoxal du temps éducatif
Bertrand Ravon
EN · ES
11h-12h30 Deux conférence à choix

Le rôle de l’Etat dans l’action éducative
Manon Schick

Le temps a-t-il encore une valeur ?
Magali Dubosson
EN
12h30-14h Repas
14h-15h Workshop
15h30-17h Projection d’un film "Temps & migration"
17h-18h Assemblée générale AIEJI
Réservé aux membres AIEJI
Horaires Programme
8h-9h Accueil participants
9h-17h Visites institutions
18h Soirée congrès Lausanne 2022
Horaires Programme Traduction
8h-9h Accueil participants
9h-10h30 Conférence plénière

Le drame du metteur en scène
Jean Van Hemelrijk
EN · ES
11h-12h Workshop
12h-14h Repas et clôture du congrèsEN · ES

Notre région

La suisse francophone

Situé en plein centre de la région lémanique, notre majestueux canton de Vaud s’étend des tendres reliefs du Jura aux fascinantes Alpes vaudoises en longeant des lacs enchanteurs sertis dans un paysage au charme authentique.​

Descendre des sommets de Glacier 3000 aux pentes douces des Alpes vaudoises, parcourir les hauteurs du beau Jura à skis ou en raquettes, associer vie culturelle et découvertes gastronomiques. Dans la Région du Léman, quatre mondes se côtoient. 

La Vallée de Joux et ses environs séduisent par une nature sauvage et la générosité de ses paysages. Un très riche programme culturel et des possibilités de shopping dignes des plus grandes métropoles du monde caractérisent les villes de Lausanne, Vevey, Montreux, Nyon, Rolle, Morges, Yverdon-les-Bains. Côté montagne, des bourgs accueillants se mettent en quatre pour rendre encore plus agréables les nombreux sports d’hiver que vous pouvez pratiquer dans la région avec, entre autres, 500 km de pistes et plus de 200 remontées mécaniques, sans parler des aventures sous un tipi ou des vols époustouflants en montgolfière. La campagne, finalement, vous offrira toute sa culture et son authenticité au travers de ses nombreux villages pittoresques. Peu de régions offrent une telle variété de villégiatures comme le fait la région du Léman.​

Notre capitale, Lausanne, occupe le plus joli site avec vue sur les Alpes. Des villes animées et des villages vignerons bordent le lac étincelant. Châteaux, bourgades pittoresques, hameaux fortifiés: un pays entre rêve et réalité. Sur les hauts-plateaux alternent champs de blé et villages fermiers. Au nord émerge le Jura, où le ciel et la terre se rejoignent, créant par leur union, l’espace pour l’âme. Dans la Vallée de Joux, Dame Nature a conservé tous ses droits. A l’est, dans les Alpes vaudoises, c’est la montagne qui requiert l’admiration: alpages, sommets et glaciers; chalets, troupeaux de bovins et balcons ensoleillés pour le repos et les plaisirs au grand air.